Published by Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services on June 30th, 2023

Sault Ste. Marie – As the school year ends and summer begins, Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services (OAHS) and Neech-ke-Wehn Homes are happy to celebrate Algoma’s Grade 8 graduates with the newly named “Carolyn Harrington Award” which acknowledges the excellence of Indigenous students who are graduating elementary school and beginning their journey to high school.

Nominated by school faculty members, awards of “Best Student” and “Most Improved Student” were given to 24 worthy students and gifted with a $100 bursary. The “Best Student” title was given to a graduate who received high marks and greatest all-around participation in school activities, and “Most Improved Student” to a graduate whose grades and activity participation improved the most.

This award began in the 1980s when the late Carolyn Harrington was a community worker at the Sault Ste. Marie Indigenous Friendship Centre. Carolyn Harrington was one of the founders of Neech-ke-Wehn Homes and was its President, with the award being named as the Neech-ke-Wehn Grade 8 Award. The award has continued for over the past 40 years, and as of 2023 is named in her honor.

“I am deeply moved by the decision to rename this long-standing award after my late and dear friend Carolyn,” says Thömas Kakapshe, Executive Director of Neech-ke-Wehn and Shkabewis at OAHS. “Her legacy of unwavering dedication to education and Indigenous youth in Bawaating will carry on in a good way for years to come for many generations.”

OAHS and Neech-ke-Wehn would like to thank all the schools that nominated their students with such glowing and heartfelt nominations and illustrate how deserving their students are!

Congratulations go out to the following Algoma students in receiving this award:

Ben R. McMullin Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Kaleb Commanda – Best Student

Blind River Public School (Blind River)

Brooke Boyer Chiblow – Best Student

Xavier Baranyai – Most Improved Student

East View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Alyx Syrette – Best Student

Wisdym Kaboni – Most Improved Student

Grand View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Brooke Johnston– Most Improved Student

Holy Cross Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Autumn Levesque – Most Improved Student

Holy Trinity Virtual School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Kyle Pritchard – Best Student

Jordan Arcoutte – Most Improved Student

Korah Collegiate & Vocational School – Intermediate (Sault Ste. Marie)

Molly Gauthier – Best Student

Miranda Aro – Most Improved Student

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Brooke Kenny – Best Student

Richie Matte – Most Improved Student

Pinewood Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Sara Toulouse – Best Student

River View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Anakin Perreault – Best Student

Lakota Caibaiosai – Most Improved Student

St. Basil’s Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Jacob Wilson – Best Student

Darren Chapais – Best Student

Lexi Wilson – Most Improved Student

Aurora Boone – Most Improved Student

Tarentorus Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Miranda Kletke – Best Student

Averie Scott – Most Improved Student

White Pines Collegiate & Vocational School – Intermediate (Sault Ste. Marie)

Alex Fournier – Best Student

Alexis Mazur Hutchens – Most Improved Student

Congratulations to all the Grade 8 graduates and we wish them the best of luck as they enter secondary school this fall!

Photo: Alyx Syrette and Wisdym Kaboni from East View Public School

Kaleb Commanda from Ben R. McMullin Public School

Kyle Pritchard from Holy Trinity Virtual School

Lakota Caibaiosai and Anakin Perrault from River View Public School