Published by Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services on July 3, 2024

Sault Ste. Marie – As the school year ends and summer begins, Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services (OAHS) and Neech-ke-Wehn Homes are happy to celebrate Algoma’s Grade 8 graduates with the “Carolyn Harrington Award” which acknowledges the excellence of Indigenous students who are graduating elementary school and beginning their journey to high school. This year, we received a record-breaking 38 nominations for students across the Algoma region.

Nominated by school faculty members, awards of “Best Student” and “Most Improved Student” were gifted with a $100 bursary. The “Best Student” title was given to a graduate who received high marks and greatest all-around participation in school activities, and “Most Improved Student” to a graduate whose grades and activity participation improved the most.

This award began in the 1980s when the late Carolyn Harrington was a community worker at the Sault Ste. Marie Indigenous Friendship Centre. Carolyn Harrington was one of the founders of Neech-ke-Wehn Homes and was its President, with the award previously named the Neech-ke-Wehn Grade 8 Award. The award has continued for over the past 40 years, and as of 2023 was named in her honour.

“We are deeply moved by the record-breaking 38 nominations for the Carolyn Harrington Award this year. Named in honour of our dear friend Carolyn, this award celebrates the excellence and improvement of Indigenous students in our community,” says Thömas Kakapshe, Executive Director of Neech-ke-Wehn and Shkabewis at OAHS. “Carolyn would be incredibly proud to see so many students recognized for their hard work and dedication. This tradition continues to inspire and support future generations.”

OAHS and Neech-ke-Wehn would like to thank all the schools that nominated their students with such glowing and heartfelt nominations and illustrate how deserving their students are!

Congratulations go out to the following Algoma students for receiving this award:

Anna McCrea Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Carter Boissoneau-Syrette – Most Improved Student

Ben R. McMullin Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Austin Abernot – Most Improved Student

Central Algoma Intermediate School (Desbarats)

Tyson Simon – Best Student

Kayden Lapish – Most Improved Student

East View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Brayden Pine – Best Student

Tyson Tangie – Most Improved Student

F.H. Clergue French Immersion Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Jaxon Belair – Best Student

Myka Eshkibok-Paquin – Most Improved Student

Grand View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Avery Gauthier – Best Student

Alexa Mallette – Most Improved Student

Greenwood Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

J.J. Swanson – Most Improved Student

H.M. Robbins Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Rayden Motari – Best Student

Ryder MacIntyre – Most Improved Student

Holy Cross Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Ella Barry – Most Improved Student

Holy Family Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Randy Lundrigan – Most Improved Student

Holy Name of Jesus Catholic School (Hornepayne)

Kenzie Moulton – Best Student

Mountain View Public School (Goulais River)

Avery Ogrins – Best Student

Jack Storms – Most Improved Student

Northern Heights Public School (Goulais River)

Tianna Couturier – Best Student

Keelin Richards – Most Improved Student

Pinewood Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Olivia Orozco – Best Student

Delina Saccarotti – Most Improved Student

Queen Elizabeth Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Noah Burch – Best Student

Joey Jancke – Most Improved Student

River View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Ariona Aelick – Most Improved Student

St. Basil Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Kienen Robertson – Best Student

Aurora Nolan Russell – Best Student

Ella Malinowski – Best Student

Malakai Cripps – Most Improved Student

Dason Chapais – Most Improved Student

Gavin Boyer – Most Improved Student

St. Paul Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Journey Tegosh – Best Student

Mariah Fraser – Most Improved Student

Superior Heights Intermediate School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Dexter Thiffault-Lewis – Best Student

Everett Vresk – Most Improved Student

Tarentorus Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Ethan Paquin – Most Improved Student

White Pines Intermediate School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Tessa Vanderheyden – Best Student

Ceana Churchill – Most Improved Student

Congratulations to all the Grade 8 graduates and we wish them the best of luck as they enter secondary school this fall!